Archive for September 1, 2009

New Sustainability Coordinator for Dining Services

As we begin to settle into this academic year, I wanted to take a minute to introduce myself. My name is Rachael Budowle, and I’m the new Sustainability Coordinator for Dining Services. I’ll be handling most of the posts for this site.

I come most recently from the Town of Blacksburg as the Community Programs Coordinator in the Office of Waste Reduction and Recycling. I’m very interested in continuing the waste reduction and diversion projects started last year via composting, food donations, reusable materials, and recycling. Look for upcoming posts on what Dining Services is doing with these issues.

My background also lends itself to the local and sustainable food initiatives that I’ll be working on here. I received my M.S. in Animals & Public Policy from Tufts University. While in Massachusetts, I worked and taught programs for the public on two small, sustainable farms.

In addition to my position  in Dining Services, I also currently teach in the Earth Sustainability Core Course Series here at VT. This is a fantastic program that fosters a great deal of student involvement in sustainability issues. I have other experience in environmental education from the time I spent as the Director of Operations for a small environmental education company for children and families as well. I hope that this site and the things I do here will promote education about sustainability initiatives in Dining Services.

In fact, the main purpose of the new and improved Farms and Fields site is to let you know what’s going on right here, right now! As a Virginia Tech alumna, I feel strongly connected to the progress we make here, as well as to identifying areas for improvement and ways to move forward in the future. My posts will focus mainly on initiatives in Dining Services, but please also look for information on related events and programs in the campus and regional community.

I am incredibly excited to be a part of the Dining Services team! I look forward to continuing the many projects started here last year and furthering sustainability initiatives in a positive and productive way. Please let me know if you have feedback and suggestions!

September 1, 2009 at 4:38 pm Leave a comment


VT Green Dining on Twitter:

  • Today is Food Day! Take some time today to celebrate the people that grow your food. More details and regional... fb.me/1H7VLfPTT 1 day ago

Blog Posts

September 2009
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 179,256 hits
September 2009
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Hours & Info

1-202-555-1212
Lunch: 11am - 2pm
Dinner: M-Th 5pm - 11pm, Fri-Sat:5pm - 1am

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,160 other followers

Follow Farms and Fields Project on WordPress.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,160 other followers