Dirt – Farmworker Post

Thanks for visiting our blog! Today is a special guest post from one of our farm workers (who is also a Dining Services Employee) Mike O’Sullivan. Enjoy this post and visit our other staff posts by checking out our tags.

OK, I admit it: I like playing in the dirt.  I did as a kid.  Back then it was mud pies, now it’s vegetables (which taste a lot better).  You’re not supposed to play in the dirt when you’re grown up, so the farm gives me a chance to get away with it.  I love planting a seedling into the ground, piling soil around it, then tending to it as it grows.  It’s a feeling of accomplishment.  Then when we serve the vegetables, it’s so cool being able to brag that I helped grow it.

Leave a Reply

